Texas Association of School Administrators   |   Texas Association of School Boards
TASA/TASB Convention
September 20–22, 2019 Kay Bailey Hutchison
Convention Center

2017 Convention

Board Members

General Sessions

John QuiƱones

A 20/20 Vision of Opportunity through Education
Friday, October 6, 2017

Hill Harper

Hill Harper

Manufacturing Your Destiny and Conquering FEAR (False Evidence Appearing Real)
Saturday, October 7, 2017

Hill H.

Student performances

Students are the reason we are all involved in school governance.  Students from Alvin ISD and Denton ISD performed during General Sessions.
                     Alvin ISD                                         Denton ISD
 Alvin ISDDenton ISD

Student Innovation ChallengeStudent Innovation Challenge Image

Sponsored by DLR, the Student Innovation Challenge brought the innovative students from Denton, Rockwall, Everman, and Aubrey ISDs together to answer some of society’s greatest challenges. 


Superintendent of the YearSOTY Image

LaTonya Goffney, Lufkin ISD

Superintendent of the Year candidates are chosen for their dedication to improving educational quality, board-superintendent relations, student achievement, and commitment to public support and involvement in education.

Honor School Board AwardHonor School Board Award Image

Coahoma ISD

The Honor School Board Award recognizes school boards that have demonstrated outstanding dedication and rendered ethical service to the children of Texas.


Key Communicator Award Key Communicator Award Image

Dan Huberty, State Representative District 127

The Key Communicator Award recognizes individuals making outstanding contributions to public education through effective communications.

Executive Director AppreciationJohnny V.

Johnny Veselka, Executive Director, TASA

Johnny Veselka was recognized for his outstanding leadership and contributions to TASA and his years of experience for Texas public schools and school administrators.

View more photos from the 2017 TASA/TASB Convention.